I fell in love with Edinburgh…

Hello! So as I’ve explored a couple of wonderful places recently, I thought I would do a little blog post on them. I also will be travelling some more this year, so this won’t be the only one. As you may have read previously, I am currently in a relationship with a lovely man. So for our first ever trip together, we traveled to the beautiful city of Edinburgh. I had heard how amazing Edinburgh was and was not disappointed. Also being the huge Harry Potter fan, the draw of seeing the Harry Potter sights was truly special for me.

 

We stayed in a hotel just near the Royal Mile. We flew out late on the Friday morning. When we landed it was all lovely and sunny. I was expecting clouds and pouring rain! We checked into to our hotel and then decided to do a open top bus tour, to get a glimpse of the sights. We braved it on upper level of the open top bus for as long as we could, but it soon became cold, even with the sun.

 

That evening we went a wonderful place for dinner called Michael Neave’s kitchen and Whisky Bar. There I had a taste of whiskey. I had only ever tried a sip before when I was younger. I thought though while in Scotland, I should give some a try.  We tried two different ones with hints of toffee and cinnamon and a delicate apple/pear flavour. I enjoyed mine so much, I had a second one haha! Now onto the food… I had a lobster and crab ravioli which was amazing. For dessert I had a sticky toffee souffle with salted caramel sauce and lemon shortbread. I was literally in food heaven.

 

 

The next morning, we took a nice walk and found the Elephant House to have some breakfast. Now for all Harry Potter fans, this is where Jo spent time writing the harry potter books. I was a little enthusiastic at being in the same café, where Jo wrote some of her amazing books. The breakfast and coffee was scrumptious! The café is also decorated with pictures of elephants. Over all the ambiance, food, coffee and service I highly recommend. It had a lovely feel to the café.

 

 

We then went to a place called Camera Obscura. Its basically a world of Illusions! All the different exhibits were really fascinating and fun! The vortex tunnel though which made me feel like I was moving sideways, did make me feel a bit queasy though.

Edin15Edin13

 

We then made our way to Edinburgh zoo which was truly a highlight. We saw the tiger up close and personal. When we first arrived we were told that the pandas were out much to my delight. Also got to see some very sleepy koala bears. Finally, we got our turn in the panda enclosure though it was just Yang Guang(which means sunshine) who put on a show for us. He apparently is a little less clean than Tian Tian is, we were told by the zoo staff. Tian Tian (which means sweetie) was hiding in her little home. What incredible creatures they are.

 

 

After that we had a lovely Italian dinner and on our walk back, we discovered the roads were closed off. This was due to some filming. Obviously, me being a huge film fan, I was desperate to know who was there and what was being filmed. Turns out it was the new avengers film being done there. Sadly, me being a short arse , I wasn’t able to spot anyone. It would have been lovely to spot Robert Downey(Iron man) or Chris Hemsworth(Thor) perhaps. It was fun to see though how they do the filming with all the lighting etc.

 Edin32

 

On Sunday it was time to explore the Edinburgh Castle which was amazing. It is quite a fortress. The views from up there are fantastic.

 

We did some more walking and then found the other café where JK Rowling used to hang out called Spoon. Also a wonderful café. Loved the décor. We were there for an early lunch/;ate brunch. I went for some French toast.

 

Then it was time to start heading home. However not before I spotted two Christmas shops along the way which I had to go into. the tiny thing of it being only March wasn’t going to stop me from going in. I love Christmas! So that was Edinburgh and I look forward to a return visit.

Leave a Reply

