Making it up as I go along- A review

MIUAIGA cover

 

So making it up as I go along is a collection of best-selling author Marian Keyes’ published and previously unpublished articles, essays, travel diaries and stories perfectly put together in an amazingly funny and wonderful book. Let me start with the cover. Its bright yellow, eye catching and fabulous. This is a sign of what awaits inside.

Marian starts with a lexicon of words fondly known as Keyesisms the description of the words and their use is downright hilarious. There is also a cast of characters from Marian’s life. So you know from the start you are onto a good one here.

So in this delight of a book there are a range of topics, including breaking up with your hairdresser, a laugh out loud funny account of her dalliance with lash extensions and self-tan. On the subject of hairdressers Marian gives advice on how to deal with hostile hairdressers and hold your own. There is talk of travels and experiences. One of the funniest things was when Marian unfortunately loses her sunglasses and has to buy a new pair. The world starts to look peculiar through the new glasses and then it turns out the lenses are tinged yellow. They are henceforth known as jaundiced sunglasses. I laughed till I cried.

There is a wonderful section called Marians Antarctica diary about a trip to Antartica. Through Marian’s eyes you are taken right there onto the ship, living vicariously.

 “The sea is so full of chunks of ice, it’s like driving through a white Slush Puppie.”

This is just one example of the genius of Marian’s writing.

I literally smiled the whole way through reading this book. My train journeys were much brightened. I was trying desperately to pace myself to make it last but couldn’t help it. So I read it on my journey to and from work and at night. Needless to say it didn’t take long for me to finish. Every time I opened this book to read another brilliant story, it felt like I was settling down with a friend, sharing giggles and laughs and more.

There is so much that stayed with from this book but I’ll just mention a couple of quotes:

“I’ve grasped that happiness is not a single & correct feeling and that all other feelings must be wrestled into submission. Happiness is simply one of countless emotions I will feel in my lifetime”

There is so much truth to this. During our lives we will feel so much more than just happiness. I know deep down that this is very true and I’m hoping one day I can fully grasp and accept this.

“But I don’t want to live in a state of yearning. I don’t want to move through my days not touching the sides. I don’t want my life to be deferred until everything is perfect, because that will be never. Instead I want to want what I have. Whatever that is.”

Those words truly resonated with me and I am certain it will for countless others. We always are on the search for what’s going to make us happy. I am still trying very hard to enjoy what I have right now and not what I’m hoping to have. There is definitely no quick fix to the human condition.  Marian also briefly discusses the acceptance that having children was not in the cards for her and her husband. This touches my heart deeply as I am in the same position. I knew from quite a young age that I wouldn’t be able to have children, due to a condition I was born with at birth. I have long moved to an acceptance of this and I’m hoping something else is meant for me in life, as I feel like I have a lot of love to give.

I could go on so much more about this book but I will let you discover the joy of it for yourselves.

It is a must read, warm, hilarious, witty with food for thought thrown in. There are so many feels in this book and I loved every single second of it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

